Bale bags Football Writers’ Award

Gareth Bale has added another award to his total by winning the Football Writers' Award.

Gareth Bale has added another award to his total by winning the Football Writers’ Award.

Tottenham Hotspur winger Gareth Bale has completed his set of awards in the 2012/2013 season by winning the Football Writers’ Award.  Bale, 23, topped the vote between journalists, winning an astounding 53% of votes.  The award comes less than a week after the Welsh international became won both the PFA Player of the Year award and the PFA Young Player of the Year award.

Bale was favored to win the award after his dazzling performance for Tottenham so far this season, with the Welshman having scored 24 goals in 41 appearances, also having 10 assists.  The winger has almost single-handedly spearheaded Tottenham’s bid for Champions League qualification, and was a massive part in taking Tottenham to the quarterfinals of the Europa League.  Bale is the first Welshman to win the FWA award since David Ginola in 1999, with the winger marginally beating Manchester United forward Robin van Persie to claim the award.   Chelsea’s Juan Mata took third place, but was far adrift of the top two.  Reports also suggested that Liverpool’s Luis Suarez, who was widely predicted to win the award before his bite on Branislav Ivanovic, only received two votes.

“It is a huge honor to receive the Footballer of the Year award from the Football Writers’ Association,” Bale said.

“It means a lot to win this award when you consider the number of players that have been outstanding for their clubs in the Barclays Premier League this season.

“I have been very fortunate to be playing in such a fantastic team and I owe a lot to my team-mates and, obviously, the manager who has shown such faith in me.

“This award has been won in the past by some of the greatest names in football and I consider it a privilege that the FWA has selected me to be named alongside them.”

The 26-year-old will receive the award, which is the oldest English award and has been running since 1948, at a gala on May 9th at the Lancaster London hotel in London.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s